Union City varsity boys golf team wins the Region 3 championship

The Union City varsity boys golf team won the Region 3 championship on Thursday when the Bears hosted a mega-match at the Union City Country Club. In front, from left, are coach Steve Yovich, Cole DeSimone, Quilan Magee, Tyler Parkhurst and Matt Yaple. In back are Andy Richardson, Josh James, Matthew Bennett, Brady Blakeslee, Miles McCaslin, Bryce Drayer and Wyatt Post.

UNION CITY — Back in 2003, the Union City varsity boys golf team shared the region title with Saegertown.

The Bears have never won a region title outright.

Fast forward 17 years later to 2020. On Thursday, the Union City boys won the Region 3 championship — and they did it on their home course at the Union City Country Club.

On their way to winning the region title, the Bears won five of the six mega-matches. Each of the six teams in the region hosted a mega-match.

On Thursday, Union City won with a score of 331.

Union City boys coach Steve Yovich praised his players for being a “great group of kids.”

“They are intelligent, coachable and athletic,” Yovich said. “They are really a nice group of guys, and I am blessed to be able to coach them.”

Union City’s Josh James was named the Region 3 Player of the Year.

Following Union City in scoring were Conneaut Area Senior High with a score of 348, Cambridge Springs with a score of 350, Saegertown with a score of 360, Seneca with a score of 389 and Maplewood with a score of 442.

James led Union City to victory with a low score of 77. He was followed by Tyler Parkhurst, who shot a 78; Cole DeSimone, who shot an 84; and Matt Yaple, who shot a 92.

Andrew McKalip had the low score for Conneaut with an 82, Devin Mott shot an 82 for Cambridge Springs, Matt Fuller shot an 86 for Saegertown, Joe Petrarca shot a 90 for Seneca, and Jared Jackson shot a 101 for Maplewood.

The Region 3 top 10 golfers were James, Dylan Flinchbaugh of Saegertown, Parkhurst, DeSimone, McKalip, Jordan Vaughn of Conneaut, Joseph Grundy of Saegertown, Cooper Baum of Conneaut, Brock Cunningham of Cambridge Springs and Petrarca.

The top five golfers – James, Flinchbaugh, Parkhurst, DeSimone and McKalip -- automatically qualify for the District 10 match. The District 10 qualifying match will be held Monday at Mount Hope Golf Course in Guys Mills.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.