It was a season to remember for the Corry wrestlers and for Union City senior Marshall VanTassel.

The Beavers not only won the Region 3 team title, they finished third in the District 10 Team Duals and advanced to the state meet in Hershey.

Individually, UC's VanTassel battled through a knee injury to finish fifth in the state in Class AA at 195 pounds.

Marshall VanTassel

Beaver junior Lucas Munsee (106) wound up with the eighth-place medal in Hershey after finishing with 44 wins, one shy of tying the Corry all-time record.

Both VanTassel and Munsee were named to the All-District 10 second team. Union City native Jacob VanDee, a sophomore at Cathedral Prep, was one of four Ramblers on the first team. Reynolds also had four wrestlers on the dream team.

In Region 3, Munsee was one of four Beavers named to the first team. Joining him was senior Matt Petrilla (182), cousins Kayden Reyda (113) and Xavier Reyda (185).

Xavier Reyda
Marshall VanTassel
Kayden Reyda

UC's VanTassel was on the first team at 195. VanTassel was sixth in the district when he suffered a knee injury in the semifinals. But he battled through districts and regionals to make it to states.

Making the region second team from Corry were senior Nick Lapinski (145), Dylan Gourley (160) and Hayden Linkerhof (195). UC regional qualifier Nick Kaday (170) also was on the second team.

The Region 3 wrestler of the year was state runner-up Kenny Kiser of Saegertown.


Region 3 All-Stars




106: Lucas Munsee, jr., Corry


113: Kayden Reyda, so., Corry


120: Logan Jaquay, sr., Eisenhower


126: Alex Kightliner, sr., Saegertown


132: Jaden Reagle, jr., Saegertown


138: Kenny Kiser, sr., Saegertown


145: Justin Boozer, sr., Cochranton


152: Stetson Boozer, so., Cochranton

160: Landon Caldwell, so., Saegertown

170: Eli Mosconi, jr., Cambridge Springs

182: Matt Petrilla, sr., Corry

195: Marshall VanTassel, sr., Union City


220: Joey King, jr., Maplewood

285: Xavier Reyda, so., Corry


106: Owen Hershelman, so., Saegertown

113: none

120: Jack Martinec, so., Cochranton

126: Shane Peterson, sr., Cochranton

132: Stephen Martinec, so., Cochranton


138: Ayden Miller, jr., Cambridge Springs

145: Nick Lapinski, sr., Corry

152: none

160: Dylan Gourley, jr., Corry

170: Nick Kaday, jr., Union City

182: J.D. McFadden, sr., Maplewood

195: Hayden Linkerhof, so., Corry

220: Cael Black, so., Eisenhower


285: Canyon Smith, sr., Saegertown

Region champion — Corry

Wrestler of year — Kenny Kiser, Saegertown

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.