UNION CITY — Borough government will have a new look when newly elected officials are sworn into office on Jan. 4.

The leadership of the Union City Area School District also will see changes when new school directors join the school board Dec. 7.

Bill Hinkle, a Republican who currently represents the First Ward on Union City Borough Council, was elected Tuesday as Union City’s new mayor.

Hinkle ran unopposed for mayor on the strength of a successful write-in campaign waged during the May primary that allowed him to place his name on the Republican and Democratic ballots. He collected 321 votes Tuesday, according to unofficial totals compiled by the Erie County Board of Elections.

Hinkle will replace Mayor Paul Capela, who did not seek re-election after serving two four-year terms.

Borough voters in the First Ward also chose a new councilman to fill Hinkle’s soon-to-be vacant four-year seat on Borough Council.

Braden McCrillis, a Republican who was running unopposed, cruised to an easy victory with an unofficial count of 154 votes.

Two incumbent councilmen, Greg Bowes and Dan Hoban, also ran unopposed and secured four-year terms to represent the borough’s Second Ward.

Bowes, a Democrat whose name was listed on the Democratic and Republican tickets, garnered 182 votes. Hoban, also a Democrat, collected 122 votes.

Two additional races were uncontested.

Incumbent Tax Collector Kim Uber, a Republican, won another four-year term with 370 votes.

Also, Republican Franklin Whiteneck, the incumbent First Ward constable, won another six-year term with 183 votes.

No candidate appeared on the ballot for Second Ward constable. Ten write-in votes were cast, but the Board of Elections is still reviewing the results.

• Voters in the Union City Area School District, which includes the borough and Union Township in Erie County, and Bloomfield Township in Crawford County, also elected two new school board members.

Newcomers Brian Niggel, who cross-filed, and Lori Lewis, a Republican, were elected to four-year terms.

Incumbents Janet Kirik and Jeff Ferringer, who both cross-filed, also were re-elected.

The four candidates ran unopposed. School directors Nancy Cole and Charles Thompson did not seek re-election.

See the Journal's Thursday, November 5th edition for full story.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.