School news

CLYMER, N.Y. — Mike Schenck was unanimously appointed to serve his first year as Clymer Central School Board president during a reorganizational meeting Monday.

Schenck has served on the board as vice president for the past six years.

Norm Upperman, a seasoned member of the board, was voted into the vice president seat.

Schenck and Upperman, along with board members Ed Mulkearn, Linda Bemis and Willowe Neckers, were sworn in with the oath of office after the appointments.

Superintendent Bert Lictus and district Clerk Carole Siverling also took the oath.

Other appointments include tax collector, Wendy Waite; district treasurer, Annette Rhebergen, at a rate of $4,477.15; district clerk, Carol Siverling, at a rate of $4,797.61; and claims auditor, Dianne Einink, at a rate of $1,843.25.

Also, district external auditor, R.A. Mercer, at a rate of $12,200; school insurance coverage, Deuink Insurance Agency, at a rate not to exceed $44,000; student accident insurance coverage, Deuink Insurance Agency, not to exceed $7,809; asbestos designee, superintendent of buildings and grounds, Mark Peters; Title IX compliance officer, Edward Bailey; Section 504 coordinator, Andrew Kuzmicki; and school attorneys, Lundberg & Gustafson, at a rate of $160 per hour; Hodgson & Russ, at hourly rates of $247 for partners, $233 for senior associates, $211 for associates, $113 for legal assistants, $165 for law clerks; and Harris Beach, at hourly rates of $230 for partners, $210 for associates, $195 for management matters/public relations, $130 for law clerks and $90 for paraprofessional services.

Also, health assistant, Ginna Newton; records access officer, Annette Rhebergen; treasurer of extra-class activities account, Carole Siverling; deputy treasurer of extra-class activities account, Edward Bailey; co-directors of physical education, Superintendent Bert Lictus and Irvin King; Dignity Act coordinator, Edward Bailey; homeless liason, guidance counselor; Title I Grants, Lynne Bemis; Title I Coordinator, Edward Bailey; newsletter editor, Lisa Perry, at a rate of $300 per issue; and deputy district treasurer, Brynne Hinsdale.

Bonding was approved for the following personnel: tax collector, $2 million; district treasurer $1 million; district clerk, $25,000; treasurer of extra-class activities account, $25,000; and claims auditor, $25,000.

Designations that were made include: official depository for district funds, Community Bank, N.A.; other banks used by district, MBIA (N.Y. Class), Key Bank and Chase; and official district newspaper, Jamestown Post-Journal.

Authorizations that were made include person to certify payrolls and school purchasing agent, superintendent; substitute school purchasing agent, school business official; attendances at all conferences, conventions, etc., with designated expenses, superintendent; two petty cash funds in the amount of $100 each for superintendent and principal; designate the authorized signatures on checks, treasurer; approve unlimited budget transfers up to $25,000, superintendent; approve and review all journal entries, superintendent; apply for grants in aid, superintendent; wire transfers, Brynne Hinsdale and Annette Rhebergen; investments, school business official; and use of credit card, superintendent and school business official.

The mileage reimbursement rate was set at 40 cents per mile.

The bus mileage rate was set at $1 per mile for community group trips.

Meeting times were set for the second Monday of each month at 4 p.m. unless otherwise noted.

Tuition rates for grandfathered students was set at $200.

Substitute rates for were set at $58 per day for non-certified, $75 for certified, $75 for a registered nurse, and $19.76 per trip for bus drivers.

Participation in the National School Lunch Program was approved.

Cafeteria prices for the 2014-15 school year were set at $1.15 for students breakfast, $1.85 for kindergarten through fifth-grade lunches, $1.95 for sixth-through 12th-grade lunches, and $3.78 including tax for adult lunches.

Occasional drivers that were approved consist of Edward Bailey, Lynne Bemis, Irvin King, Daland Perry, Lisa Perry, Marc Heiser, Pam Morton, Scott Neckers, Dan White, Ray Shrout, Dave VanEarden, Kathleen Whitmore, Annette Williams, Sue Crandall, Cheryl Burk and Dave Bodamer.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.